listen live
West Liberty, OH

Local drivers dominate Shady Bowl; Quincy racer wins 110-lap feature

The 2nd running of the Denny Shatto Memorial was held at Shady Bowl Speedway over the weekend.

The 110-lap grind was sponsored by Helman Brothers Body Shop in Sidney.

Cincinnati driver Jeff Pflum took the lead at the drop of the green to lead lap one. On lap two Mark Parker powered his way past to take over the helm. Action was slowed and came to a halt as oil was found in several grooves on the track. The result was a long delay as the track crew worked to clean the speedway and make the racing surface safe. When racing resumed it was Parker again out front with Nathan Herron, Sam Heckman, Mike Ward, and Josh Smith (pictured left) in hot pursuit. On lap 35, Smith, who was the fast qualifier, surged by to take the lead from his 11th starting spot. Smith then checked out and built nearly a half-lap lead. The yellow came out again on lap 63 when rear end grease was leaked onto the track from one of the racers. It made for another extensive clean up by the track crew. While clean up was underway under another red flag, officials found that Smith was the car that was leaking putting him in the pits. The crew went to work on Smith’s #76 and discovered that the plug on the rear end had loosened up allowing the grease to leak out. A quick tightening of the plug and a refill of grease put Smith back on the track just as clean up was finished. Smith rejoined the race at the rear of the pack. Parker again took over the lead on lap 64 and looked to be on his way to his biggest win. Smith had his own agenda as he made his way through cars to move closer to the lead. Smith and Russ Bobb had a trading of paint that brought out the yellow, again putting Smith at the rear of the field for the third time (counting his initial starting spot). When racing resumed Smith again began making his way to the front. On lap 95 Smith caught and passed Parker for the lead. Smith and Parker then had a battle the last 15 laps, with Smith taking the checker 15 laps later with Parker right on his bumper. The win was worth over $2,500 for Smith and car owner Curt Frazier. Parker was second, Ward third, Heckman fourth, and Jamie Hunt fifth. Matthew Parsons won the dash with Parker and Bobb notching heat wins.

In modified action, Buck Purtee led the first 17 circuits before DeGraff driver Brad Yelton (pictured right) took over the lead. The race was all but over at that point. Yelton was clearly the class of the field on this night as he led the rest of the way to take the win. Purtee was second, Chris Parker third, Rob Yelton fourth, and Greg Winget fifth. Rob Yelton carried the checker for the dash with Purtee and Schaeff taking heat wins. Chad Poole was fast qualifier.

The street stocks were next to take to the oval. Chris Prater took advantage of his pole position starting spot to take an early lead. Prater held the top spot for 11 laps before defending track champion Rodney Roush (pictured left) made his way past. Roush, of Sidney, went on to pick up his fourth win of the season in his Roger Winget Race Cars sponsored Chevelle. He had to hold off a challenge by Jason Burnside, who was fast qualifier. Burnside actually passed Roush at one point before breaking a driveshaft. Jason Drummond, James Harding, Josh Sage, and Richard Roush rounded out the top five. Rodney Roush was the dash winner with Buck Purtee and Chad Brandyberry carrying the checker the heats.

In tuner action, Holli Eaton (pictured right) of West Liberty passed early leader Justin Pope on lap 9 and powered her way to her second feature win of the season in her Sarica MFG backed Honda.

Ron Masters (Holli’s father) was unable to pass and had to settle for second. Gary Eaton, Terry Eaton, and Chad Small II finished third thru fifth. Small II was the dash winner with Pope winning the heat.

The compact feature saw Springfield’s Chris Prater (pictured left) all smiles as he posed for the victory lane pictures. Prater, in his Brooks Service backed racer, held off a late race charge by fast qualifier Jay Lakins to take the win. Matt Jackson, Zack Doolins, and Nicholas Meade rounded out the top five.

Next Saturday will be a regular program for late models, modifieds, street stocks, tuners, compacts, and dwarf cars. Racing will start at 7 p.m.

Pictures courtesy of Isaacs Photos.

We encourage open dialogue among people who may disagree. Difficult conversations must be had sometimes to make progress. If you disagree, please disagree respectfully. Cruelty will not be tolerated. This is a family friendly group.
polls & surveys
Become our Friend
on Facebook
Follow us
on Twitter
Make us Your

This site was created by RiverBender.com
Copyright © 2018 Peak of Ohio
PeakOfOhio.com · WPKO 98.3 FM · WBLL 1390 AM
1501 County Road 235, Bellefontaine, OH 43311-9505
Phone 937-592-1045 · Fax 937-592-3299 · EEO Report