listen live
West Liberty, OH

Mechanicsburg, Graham claim wrestling state championships

Kaleb RomeroSaturday was the final day of the 80th OHSAA Wrestling Championships at the Schottenstein Center in Columbus.

The Graham Falcons, under longtime coach Jeff Jordan, won their 17th consecutive state championship in Div. II. No other team in any sport has done this.

The Mechanicsburg Indians, under coach Cameron Doggett, himself a former Graham wrestler, won their 1st ever state title in Div. III.

Graham had 232.5 points to claim the top spot with Canfield a distant second (87 points.)

Mechanicsburg had 118.5 points. 2nd place Genoa Area recorded 95 points.

The Div. I state title was won by Lakewood St. Edward with 151 points while 2nd place Elyria tallied 128.5 points.

There were six individual state titles for the Falcons, claimed by Mitch Moore (132), Rocky Jordan (152), both repeat champions, while Kavan Sarver (195), Ryan Thomas (160), J.D. Stickley (138), and Jordan Crace at 120 pounds won their first state championships.

Here are the OHSAA individual results for Graham in the finals:

120: Jordan Crace, St. Paris Graham Local dec. Lukus Stricker, Akron Arch. Hoban 4-1
132: Mitch Moore, St. Paris Graham Local dec. Ben Pasiuk, Carrollton 2-0
138: J.D. Stickley, St. Paris Graham Local dec. Timothy Gage Grunden, Defiance 8-1
152: Rocky Jordan, St. Paris Graham Local maj. dec. Sid Ohl, Ashland 8-0
160: Ryan Thomas, St. Paris Graham Local dec. Georgio Poullas, Canfield 6-4SV
195: Kavan Sarver, St. Paris Graham Local dec. Stone Day, Germantown Valley View 3-2UTB

There were three state champions for the Indians, including Kaleb Romero (170), Alex Rhine (132), and Tanner Smith (145). Romero won 4 state championships in his high school career, becoming the 29th wrestler in state history to do so, while finishing with a 202-3 mark over his 4 years.

Here are the OHSAA individual results for Mechanicsburg in the finals:

132: Alex Rhine, Mechanicsburg dec. Alex Isbrandt, Casstown Miami East 8-6SV
145: Tanner Smith, Mechanicsburg dec. Stan Bleich, Elyria Cath. 5-1
170: Kaleb Romero, Mechanicsburg pin Brett Vonderwell, Delphos St. John's 0:52

Also claiming a state championship was Landon Hall at 220 for Wapakoneta as he won by decision over Brandon Phillips of Maumee 6-4.

Finishing 2nd for Graham was Gage Braun (182), and 3rd place finishes for Tanner Jordan (106) and Jeffrey Thomas (126).

Joey Sanchez (145) was 4th while Johnny Shafer (220) finished 7th for Graham.

Colt Yinger (152) finished 2nd for the Indians and Tyler Wetzel (126) was 3rd.

We encourage open dialogue among people who may disagree. Difficult conversations must be had sometimes to make progress. If you disagree, please disagree respectfully. Cruelty will not be tolerated. This is a family friendly group.
Enter to win tickets to see Alabama in concert
bike tracks
Become our Friend
on Facebook
Follow us
on Twitter
Make us Your

This site was created by RiverBender.com
Copyright © 2018 Peak of Ohio
PeakOfOhio.com · WPKO 98.3 FM · WBLL 1390 AM
1501 County Road 235, Bellefontaine, OH 43311-9505
Phone 937-592-1045 · Fax 937-592-3299 · EEO Report