listen live
West Liberty, OH

IL's Dixon bows out; Graham, Mechanicsburg, Triad wrestlers fare well

At the 80th Ohio State Wrestling tournament Thursday at the Schottenstein Center in Columbus, Graham appeared well on its way to another state title in Div. II with 40 points as they gun for their 17th consecutive championship.

For the Falcons all 11 wrestlers won their opening matches in the championship preliminaries on Thursday.

Tanner Jordan (106), Jeffrey Thomas (126), Mitch Moore (132), Joey Sanchez (145), Ryan Thomas (160), Gage Braun (182) and Kavan Sarver (195) each won by pin.

Jordan Crace (120) and Rocky Jordan (152) each won by technical fall.

Johnny Shafer (220) earned a major decision. 

J.D. Stickley (138) won by decision.

Indian Lake's Connor Dixon (160) lost his two matches on Thursday. 

The first was in the championship prelims, a major decision to Wauseon's Andrew Bailey.

Dixon lost his second match in the conolation round by a technical fall to Khord Moore of Canton South.

In Div. III Oak Harbor led after day one with 21 points while Mechanicsburg was close behind in second with 20.5 points.

For the Indians on Thursday Alex Rhine (132), Tanner Smith (145) and Kaleb Romero (170) each won by pinning their opponents. 

Colt Yinger (152) earned a technical fall while Tyler Wetzel (126) and Dylan Hartley (285) both won decisions.

The Burg's Corey Bogan went 1-1 losing early and winning in the consolation round to stay alive.

Triad's Zack Zizzo (145) won his opening match as he decisioned Jonas Proffitt of Williamsport Westfall 4-3.

Day two is Friday in Columbus.

We encourage open dialogue among people who may disagree. Difficult conversations must be had sometimes to make progress. If you disagree, please disagree respectfully. Cruelty will not be tolerated. This is a family friendly group.
Enter to win tickets to see Alabama in concert
bike tracks
Become our Friend
on Facebook
Follow us
on Twitter
Make us Your

This site was created by RiverBender.com
Copyright © 2018 Peak of Ohio
PeakOfOhio.com · WPKO 98.3 FM · WBLL 1390 AM
1501 County Road 235, Bellefontaine, OH 43311-9505
Phone 937-592-1045 · Fax 937-592-3299 · EEO Report