listen live
West Liberty, OH

Mary Rutan recognizes service to humanity and health care (Audio & video included)

The Mary Rutan Health Association conducted its annual meeting and presented a couple awards Monday.

For twenty-two years, the Mary Rutan Foundation has recognized deserving individuals or organizations that place service to humanity ahead of personal gain or recognition by making substantial contributions to the community and Mary Rutan Hospital.

(Pictured top: Dr. Glen Miller accepting his award from Nancy Knight)

Nancy Knight speaks about the event.

The 2013 Internal Meritorious Service Award was bestowed upon the hospital’s fourteen-member Volunteer Chaplaincy Group.

(Pictured right from left to right: Tami Wenger, Ron Irick, Roger Rude, Nancy Knight, Lee Ortman, and Glenn Gault)

The Volunteer Chaplain Program was originally organized in September of 1972, by the late Rev. Howard Schmitt and Rev. Keith Mc Neill, past chairman of the Logan County Ministerial Association. Rev. Schmitt continued to serve as staff director for the program until 1985, when he moved out of state. He was succeeded by Brother Dwight Baldwin, Pastor Keith Matthews, and Pastor Mike Sandlin, until the current status of a 100% volunteer group as it exists today.

Each and every day this group gives selflessly of their time to comfort and counsel others. The Volunteer Chaplains are an important part of the Mary Rutan Health Care Team and provide assistance with the spiritual and emotional needs of the patients and families served.

During patient visits, the chaplains assist in experiences of both joy and grief.
Whether it is celebrating the birth of a new born baby, talking and praying with a patient during a hospital stay, holding the hand of a dying patient, or providing comfort and support to a family in the emergency department during a critical time the chaplains meet the needs of Mary Rutan Hospital patients and families on a daily basis. 

As pastors have come and gone with congregational life and changes have occurred in the contemporary dynamics of hospitalization, over the years the structure of the program has also changed. The make-up of the volunteer team now consists of ministers of various sized congregations, youth ministers, and church elders. 

Nancy Knight, Foundation Board Vice Chairperson states, “Some of the original operation continues, and one consistent remains, the ministry to the spiritual and emotional needs of the patients, their family and staff regardless of the time of day or night that the need presents itself a Chaplain is there.”

Those recognized include: Roger Rude, Chairman; Ron Irick, Vice Chairman; Tony Doehrmann, CJ Plogger, Lee Ortman, Glenn Gault, Mark Warren, Abe Kenner, Tami Wenger, Anne Reames, Jim Burton, Floyd Lundy, Catherine Murphy and Norlin Ricks.

Ron Irick comments for the chaplaincy group.

Loading the player ...
What the chaplaincy group accept their award.

Recognized as the 2013 External Meritorious Service Award Recipient for his many contributions and selfless acts of service in the medical field to Logan County and abroad was Glen E. Miller, M.D.

(Pictured left from left to right: Dr. Miller and Nancy Knight)

Dr. Miller, a 1961 graduate of Western Reserve University School of Medicine, completed his Internship in 1962 at Midland Community Hospital in Michigan and Residency in Family Practice at Akron City Hospital in Ohio, before joining Family Practice in Logan County.

By invitation from Dr. Paul Hooley, Dr. Miller was co-founder of Oak Hill Medical Associates in 1965, which later became the first sizeable medical group practice in Logan County. His medical expertise and administrative skills were recognized early, resulting in a very important role in the evolution of a small city hospital to one of a highly reputable medical center that exists today.

Except for one sub-specialist in ophthalmology, Mary Rutan Hospital, like most small community hospitals of the mid-nineteen-sixties, consisted of dedicated physicians, representing family medicine and general surgery. There were no other specialties included at that time and the need for such was not apparent. Quality trained hospital administrators were also few in number.

Dr. Miller, along with several other like-minded physicians, sensed a need for constructive changes and improvements. They exhibited a pioneering role in obtaining a formally trained hospital administrator in Ewing H. Crawfis. They recruited additional young family physicians and forecasted the need for more specialty-trained physicians, starting with a radiologist and pathologist. This lead to future recruitment of physicians trained in boarded obstetrics, pediatrics, internal medicine, orthopedics, emergency medicine and anesthesia.

In 1971, after spending several years in family medicine at Mary Rutan Hospital, he left to receive formal training in internal medicine. Upon returning in 1973, he exercised a leading role in initiating quality education for the medical staff. He played a key role in peer review matters, restructuring of the medical by-laws, and in 1989 became Mary Rutan’s first formally employed medical director.

In 1990, Dr. Miller left Logan County to become more involved in medical missions. He served as the Director of India Mennonite Central Committee Program, the Interim co-director of the Cambodia Mennonite Central Committee, was the program manager of the Healthcare Access Initiative for the Mennonite Church USA and in 2009 authored the book EMPOWERING THE PATIENT: How to reduce the cost of healthcare and improve its quality.

As one of Dr. Miller’s colleagues stated, we are grateful for all the unselfish hours Dr. Miller spent in caring for his patients and for the leadership expertise he gave to the Mary Rutan Hospital Community. For this, he is recognized for his service to humanity and to our community.

Dr. Miller shares his feelings on receiving the award.

Loading the player ...
Watch Dr. Miller speak after receiving his award.

Also during the annual meeting, this past year’s accomplishments were reported and five Directors to the Board were elected. Elected to represent the City of Bellefontaine were Joan Haushalter and Dr. Tom Darrah. Representing Logan County is Dr. Harry Graber and Dr. Matt Verbsky and the at-large position was filled by Steve Austin.

We encourage open dialogue among people who may disagree. Difficult conversations must be had sometimes to make progress. If you disagree, please disagree respectfully. Cruelty will not be tolerated. This is a family friendly group.
Enter to win tickets to see Alabama in concert
bike tracks
Become our Friend
on Facebook
Follow us
on Twitter
Make us Your

This site was created by RiverBender.com
Copyright © 2018 Peak of Ohio
PeakOfOhio.com · WPKO 98.3 FM · WBLL 1390 AM
1501 County Road 235, Bellefontaine, OH 43311-9505
Phone 937-592-1045 · Fax 937-592-3299 · EEO Report