listen live
West Liberty, OH

Benjamin Logan Middle School has strong showing at Ohio Model United Nations

Benjamin Logan Middle School students attended the Ohio Model United Nations (OMUN) in Columbus recently.

This Ohio leadership experience was the largest ever with over 1,000 middle school students in grades 6-8 participating. The OMUN program invites students to join a delegation of the world who is a member of the United Nations. Students then write a resolution to a world issue, present this resolution to fellow delegates over the three-day event, debate these resolutions, and perform talents to their native delegation.

The 32 Benjamin Logan students (pictured) had a strong showing. The school had four delegations: Egypt, sixth grade; Ireland and Italy, seventh grade; and France, eight grade.

On Sunday, over 170 resolutions were debated in a small session setting. All four of Benjamin Logan’s resolutions were selected to be presented in either the General Assembly or the Human Rights council on Monday. Benjamin Logan was the only school to have all of their resolutions presented twice.

Three of the Benjamin Logan delegations were awarded an Outstanding Resolution trophy. Only 15 delegations were awarded this honor.

Egypt’s resolution topic, Turn the Earth Around - HTRAE (relocating a portion of the Earth’s population via a fleet of space vehicles to other inhabitable locations in order to bring the Earth and human population back in balance) won an Outstanding Resolution trophy.

Ireland’s resolution topic, Loans of Global Influence (dealing with countries on the UN Security Council and major shareholders of the World Bank who undercut the interest loan rate of the World Bank) won an Outstanding Resolution trophy.

Italy’s resolution topic, One World, One Currency (having one global currency standard) also won an Outstanding Resolution trophy.

Seventh-grader Ray McCormick was selected as an Outstanding Leader.

Egypt’s delegation included: Mei Carmer, Shae Freeman, Matt Godwin, Sydney Kossel, Mason Manns, Katie Meier, Shannon Perdue, Maddie Robinson, and Nolan Robson.

Ireland’s delegation included: Nathan Coffield, Chenhao Ma, Ray McCormick, Daniel McPherson, Jada Orahood, Logan Phillips, Bryden Penhorwood, Quinton Woodward, and Joel Workman.

Italy’s delegation included: Taylor Keene, Jazmine McKeen, Kayla Null, Nolan Pelger, Nick Ridge, Nolan Rivers, and Kayla Stafford.

France’s delegation included: Corbin Adams, Alex Parker, Jennifer Reaver, Drew Ryan- Wasson, Addie Rodenberger, Gabe VanDyke, and Josh Whitten.

Amy McCormick is the advisor for 6th and 7th grade.

Scott Vermillion is the advisor for 8th grade.

We encourage open dialogue among people who may disagree. Difficult conversations must be had sometimes to make progress. If you disagree, please disagree respectfully. Cruelty will not be tolerated. This is a family friendly group.
Enter to win tickets to see Alabama in concert
bike tracks
Become our Friend
on Facebook
Follow us
on Twitter
Make us Your

This site was created by RiverBender.com
Copyright © 2018 Peak of Ohio
PeakOfOhio.com · WPKO 98.3 FM · WBLL 1390 AM
1501 County Road 235, Bellefontaine, OH 43311-9505
Phone 937-592-1045 · Fax 937-592-3299 · EEO Report