listen live
West Liberty, OH

Reames honored for 25 years of service (Audio & video included)

Longtime Bellefontaine City School board member Anne Reames was recognized Monday night at the board’s first meeting in June.

Jeff Chambers (left, presenting the plaque to Reames) and Ron Diver of the Southwest District of the Ohio School Boards Association presented Reames a plaque recognizing her 25 years of service to both Bellefontaine and the Ohio Hi-Point Career Center.

Bellefontaine Superintendent Beth Harman thanked Reames for her assistance with various building projects, getting levies passed, and willingness to support students in any way possible.

Reames isn’t sure about how much longer she will serve but has two projects in mind that she would like to see get done. She would love to see a new grades 3-5 building and a Clark State building on the Hi-Point Career Center campus.

Reames reflects on her years as a board member.

Harman indicated that work has begun on the installation of the new field turf and track at Dodd Stadium. The field and the visitor bleachers should be done by the end of the summer. The athletic boosters are close to having the money raised to complete the project. However, those interested can still donate. Rick Hatcher and John Belser are the people to contact.

Harman praises Reames and talks about Dodd Field construction.

The board approved several personnel changes. Cathy Wiley will continue her position as Coordinator of Gifted and Talented until 2017. Travis Hunsicker was granted a continuing contract. Bruce Lemley will serve as the district psychologist. Christopher Miller was hired as the new high school English teacher replacing Garth McLoed.

Marybeth Motasem resigned her position as high school Family & Consumer Science teacher. The search for her replacement has begun.

2014 graduates Jessy Oppy and Matt Baughman were recognized as seniors of the month. Oppy will attend OSU-Lima. Baughman will attend Otterbein.

Loading the player ...
Watch Jessy Oppy receive her award.

Loading the player ...
Watch Matt Baughman receive his award.

The board announced the 14 scholarship winners for the 2014-15 academic year:

Jonathan Bensman, $1,000 Academic Scholarship to Purdue University

Danielle Champion, $1,000 Academic Scholarship to the University of Toledo

Jordan Fox, $1,000 Academic Scholarship to The Ohio State University

Carly Strzalka, $1,000 Academic Scholarship and $400 Robert L. and Helen E. Ginn Memorial Scholarship to Ohio Northern University

Brooke Turner, $1,000 Academic Scholarship and $1,000 Pepsi Leadership Scholarship to Baldwin Wallace University

Nicolas J. Burton, $800 BHS Alumni and Friends Scholarship to Cedarville University

Emily O’Connor, $800 BHS Alumni and Friends Scholarship to Miami University

Nicholas Heydinger, $1,000 Pepsi Leadership Scholarship and Effie Patterson Memorial Scholarship to The Ohio State University

Kyle Brunner, $1,000 Tom Belser Memorial Scholarship to Mount Vernon Nazarene University

Jarrod Houchin, $1,000 James F. Stolly Memorial Scholarship to an undetermined school

Kameren Haley, $656 Jackie Kellogg Scholarship to the University of Cincinnati

Drake Roebuck, $500 Ronald H. Wisse Scholarship to The Ohio State University

Casey Scott, $1,000 McKenzie Rife Memorial Scholarship to The Ohio State University

The board will next meet on June 30th at 6:30 p.m.

We encourage open dialogue among people who may disagree. Difficult conversations must be had sometimes to make progress. If you disagree, please disagree respectfully. Cruelty will not be tolerated. This is a family friendly group.
polls & surveys
Become our Friend
on Facebook
Follow us
on Twitter
Make us Your

This site was created by RiverBender.com
Copyright © 2018 Peak of Ohio
PeakOfOhio.com · WPKO 98.3 FM · WBLL 1390 AM
1501 County Road 235, Bellefontaine, OH 43311-9505
Phone 937-592-1045 · Fax 937-592-3299 · EEO Report